The Fund for Haywood County serves donors and nonprofits. This endowment fund was established in 1994 by caring individuals who recognized the importance of a permanent charitable capital resource to support the ever-changing needs and opportunities in Haywood County.

Contributions made to The Fund for Haywood County are pooled and invested by The Community Foundation.  Proceeds from the investments are used to make grants while the original gifts remain intact, continuing to grow for the benefit of future generations. 

Nonprofit organizations and public institutions may apply to The Fund for Haywood County for support.  Review the guidelines and application information for the People in Need grants for more details.

You can make a difference in Haywood County by making a tax-deductible gift of cash, securities, life insurance or real estate.  By pooling your gift with those of your neighbors, you can provide significant support for local needs. 

We decided many years ago that we would give back to this remarkable community that has been so good to us. We found we could do that through The Fund for Haywood County. We have the option of annual giving and creating a permanent fund that continues giving into the future. It is the perfect organization that facilitates our giving safely and efficiently. 

Ken and Kathy Wilson


Many thanks to these generous donors who supported The Fund for Haywood County (1/01/13-12/31/13):

Dr. and Mrs. William C. Allsbrook, Jr.

Mr. and Mrs. Larry R. Ammons

Ms. Louise W. Baker

Mr. Michael Beadle and Ms. Nicole Wilhelm

Mr. Raymond Caldwell

Dr. and Mrs. Steven S. Crider

Mr. and Mrs. Paul Crutchfield

Ms. Voni D'Angio

Mr. Larry E. East

Ms. Kaaren L. Stoner and Mr. David J. Erickson

Mr. and Mrs. R. Parrish Ezell

Dr. and Mrs. Najeeb O. Ghaussy

Mr. and Mrs. J. Wells Greeley

Mr. and Mrs. Don Haynes

Mr. and Mrs. George D. Ivey

Mr. Rolf Kaufman

Mr. and Mrs. John W. Keith

Dr. Gerald King

Mr. Bruce A. Kingshill

Mr. Theodore Lappas, Jr.

Dr. Craig Linger

Mrs. Christine Mallette

Dr. and Mrs. S. Mark McNeill

Ms. Peggy C. Melville

Dr. Mark Mittelman

Mr. William Morgan

Dr. and Mrs. David Mulholland

Dr. and Mrs. Luis A. Munoz

Dr. and Mrs. William B. Owen, Jr.

Dr. and Mrs. Barton R. Paschal

Mr. and Mrs. James B. Phelan

Mrs. Delores Phillips

Mr. Jeremy Phillips

Mrs. Zada Phipps

Mr. and Mrs. Ralph L. Prevost

Mrs. Rebecca H. Prevost

Mrs. B. J. Ray

Mr. and Mrs. Albert M. Rose

Mr. and Mrs. Raymond B. Rutherford

Ms. Margaret Scanlan and Dr. John Lafata

Dr. and Mrs. Bennie R. Sharpton

Mr. Thomas R. Smith

Mrs. Roger Soltis

Dr. and Mrs. Donald S. Stanton

Dr. and Mrs. Richard H. Steele

Mr. David Sutton

Dr. and Mrs. John F. Tannehill

Mrs. Melissa J. Van Noppen

Mr. and Mrs. John W. Veghte

Dr. Leonard and Dr. Lisa Verges

Dr. and Mrs. Jonathan White

Dr. and Mrs. Marvin Williams

Mr. Kenneth Wilson and the Rev. Kathleen Wilson 


The Legacy Society

The Legacy Society honors individuals who have arranged for a future gift to our affiliate in the form of a bequest, charitable remainder trust, charitable gift annuity, retirement assets, life insurance, life estate or other deferred contribution.  Legacy Society members of The Fund for Haywood County include: 

Mason Barrett
Paul O. Germann Jr.
Najeeb and Dionne Ghaussy
George and Laura Ivey
Rolf Kaufman
Melissa van Noppen
Jim and Katie Ray
Billie and Bob Venner

Contact Us

Staff Directory
Email Us

Find Us

4 Vanderbilt Park Drive
Suite 300
Asheville, NC 28803

Get to Know Us



Receive Email Updates