You can make a difference in McDowell County by making a tax-deductible gift of cash, securities, life insurance or real estate. By pooling your gift with those of your neighbors, you can provide significant support for local needs.

Twenty years ago, The McDowell Endowment was established with a $10,000 gift from a family with deep ties to McDowell County. It was created to offer a safe, purposeful, long-term way for people to give back. Since then, with much support from The Community Foundation of Western North Carolina, 85 grants totaling more than $700,000 have been made and our endowment has grown to $970,000.  It would be a wonderful celebration of twenty years if the Endowment could reach $1,000,000 in its twentieth year. It is truly a grand resource for McDowell County.

Becky Cross


Many thanks to these generous donors who supported the McDowell Endowment. 

(07/01/16 - 06/30/17) 


Mr. and Mrs. Kit Alverson

Asheville Savings Bank

Mr. Rod Birdsong

Mr. Jimmy Blanton

Mr. and Mrs. Bob Boyette

Mr. and Mrs. Charles Burgin

Dr. and Mrs. Mark Burton

Mr. and Mrs. George Simeon Butler

Ms. Rebecca C. Canady

Ms. Dee Cash and Mr. C. Frank Goldsmith Jr.

Mrs. Rebecca B. Cross

Mr. and Mrs. O. Roane Cross Jr.

Mr. and Mrs. John M. Cross

Mr. Simeon R. Cross

Mr. and Mrs. Eugene Cross III

Mr. and Mrs. Eugene Cross IV

Mr. Kelly R. Cross

Mr. and Mrs. R. Marshall Dark Jr.

Mr. and Mrs. R. Marshall Dark III

Mr. and Mrs. Fred Dodge

Ms. Juanita Doggett

Ms. Laura W. Dover

Mr. and Mrs. W. Hill Evans

Mr. and Mrs. Richard E. Faulkner

Mr. and Mrs. J. Ramsay Grant Jr.

Mr. and Mrs. Lamar Green

Mr. and Mrs. Richard C. Green

Mr. and Mrs. Woodrow P. Greene

Mr. and Mrs. Robert D. Gregory

Mr. Don Ramsey, McDowell County Habitat

Mr. and Mrs. Victor Hansen

Mr. and Mrs. Nick Hayes

Mr. and Mrs. Carl L. Hollifield Jr.

Ms. Kay B. House

The Hon. and Mrs. Robert C. Hunter

Mrs. Wanda Hyder

Ms. Marion Baker and Mr. James Jones

Mr. Richard G. Knapp

Mr. Michael Lavender

Dr. and Mrs. Michael McCall

Mr. and Mrs. W. Ray McKesson

Mrs. Russell A. McNutt

Ms. Sharon Lee Parker

Ms. Mary Frances Queen

Mr. and Mrs. Donald Ramsey

Dr. and Mrs. Raymond C. Roy

Ms. Helen Shimp

Mr. Alfred M. Shiver

Mrs. Joy Q. Shuford

Mr. and Mrs. Jerry Sisk

Ms. Sharon P. Smith

Ms. Nancy Spencer

Mr. and Mrs. Roger D. Sprinkle

Mr. and Mrs. Alan P. Stewart

Ms. Susie Sweet and Ms. Gwen Straub

Mr. Joe Tisdale

Mr. and Mrs. John Whittemore

The Legacy Society

The Legacy Society honors individuals who have arranged for a future gift to our affiliate in the form of a bequest, charitable remainder trust, charitable gift annuity, retirement assets, life insurance, life estate or other deferred contribution.   Legacy Society members of The McDowell Endowment who have formally informed us in writing that they wish to be listed publicly include:

John M. and Becky Cross
Mr. and Mrs. Oliver Cross and Family
R. Marshall Dark, Jr. and Barbara W. Dark
Mr.* and Mrs. Albert C. Hogan and Vickie
Dr. and Mrs. Michael A. McCall
Sharon L. Parker
Joy Q. Shuford

Contact Us

Staff Directory
Email Us

Find Us

4 Vanderbilt Park Drive
Suite 300
Asheville, NC 28803

Receive Email Updates